There are 114 surahs in al-Quraan, each divided into ayahs (verses). A surah (سورة‎) is the equivalent of “chapter” in the Quraan. The most popular understanding is that the order of surahs in the Quran is from the Prophet Muhammad S.A.W. There is a hadith recorded by Fatimah AS, that the Prophet SAW said:

أَنَّ جِبْرِيلَ كَانَ يُعَارِضُنِي بِالقُرْآنِ كُلَّ سَنَةٍ، وَإِنَّهُ عَارَضَنِي العَامَ مَرَّتَيْنِ، وَلاَ أُرَاهُ إِلَّا حَضَرَ أَجَلِي

Meaning: Indeed, Jibril always checks my recitation of the Quraan every year. Later this year he checked my readings twice. I didn’t see it except as a signal that my death was really approaching.

Narrated by Bukhari and Muslim

Allah S.W.T sent down the Quraan in its entirety to the heavens of the world then sent it down in phase by phase for over 20 years. The surahs were revealed based on the rulings (or events) that took place and the verses became the answers for the people who asked questions. And Gabriel decided the arrangement (based on the decree of Allah S.W.T) of verses and chapters. So the surah was arranged in an orderly manner just as the verses and letters were also arranged in an orderly manner, they all came from the Prophet SAW.

According to the history of the compilation of the Quraan, the Prophet himself chose the verses where to be placed. The Quraan, which is presently in our hands and which is available to every Muslim, is the same Quraan which was collected and compiled during the period of third caliph, Uthman ibn Affan – as per orderly manner from Prophet SAW.

It is in year 2021, a new concept has been introduced by inserting a QR code on every page of al-Quraan. It has been introduced by Hubbulquraan.